2007 National Medals of Science and Technology

Posted on October 9, 2008  Comments (3)

photo of 2007 Medals of Science Presentation at the White House

2007 National Medal of and Technology and Innovation

Paul Baran for the invention and development of the fundamental architecture for packet-switched communication networks, which provided a paradigm shift from the circuit-switched communication networks of the past, and later was used to build the ARPANET and the Internet.

Armand V. Feigenbaum for his leadership in the development of the economic relationship of quality costs, productivity improvement, and profitability, and for his pioneering application of economics, general systems theory and technology, statistical methods, and management principles that define The Total Quality Management approach for achieving performance excellence and global competitiveness. See the Curious Cat Management Improvement portal.

Adam Heller for his fundamental contributions to electrochemistry and bioelectric chemistry, and the subsequent application of those fundamentals in the development of technological products that improved the quality of life across the globe, most notably in the area of human health and well-being.

Carlton Grant Willson for the creation of novel lithographic imaging materials and techniques that have enabled the manufacturing of smaller, faster, and more efficient microelectronic components that have improved the competitiveness of U.S. microelectronics industry.

David N. Cutler for having designed and implemented standards for real-time, personal, and server-based operating systems, carrying these projects from conception through design, engineering, and production for Digital Equipment Corporation’s RSX-11 and VAX/VMS, and for the Microsoft’s Windows NT-based computer operating systems; and for his fundamental contributions to computer architecture, compilers, operating systems, and software engineering.

Roscoe O. Brady, for his discovery of the enzymatic defects and hereditary metabolic disorders such as Gaucher disease, Neimann-Pick disease, Fabry disease and Tay-Sachs disease, devising widely used genetic counseling procedures and the development of highly effective enzyme replacement therapy that provided the foundation of patient treatment; and for stimulating the creation of and fostering the success of many biotechnology companies that produce the therapeutics for the treatment of these diseases.

Recipients of the 2007 National Medal of Science

Fay Ajzenberg-Selove for her pioneering contributions in nuclear physics that have advanced research into many applications, including energy generation from fusion, dating of artifacts, and nuclear medicine, her passion for teaching and her outstanding service to her profession.

Robert J. Leftkowitz for his discovery of the seven transmembrane receptors, deemed the largest, most versatile and most therapeutically accessible receptor signaling system, and for describing the general mechanism of their regulation influencing all fields of medical practice.

Mostofa El-Sayed for his seminal contributions to our understanding of the electronic and optical properties of nano-materials, and of their applications in nano-catalysis and nano-medicine; his humanitarian efforts in promoting the exchange of ideas; and his role in developing the scientific leadership of tomorrow.

Leonard Kleinrock for his fundamental contributions to the mathematical theory of modern data networks, and for the functional specification of packet switching, which is the foundation of Internet technology. His mentoring of generations of students has led to the commercialization of technologies that have transformed the world.

Bert W. O’Malley for his pioneering work on the molecular mechanisms of steroid hormone action and hormone receptors and coactivators, which has had a profound impact on our knowledge of steroid hormones in normal development, and in diseases, including cancer.

Charles P. Slichter for establishing nuclear magnetic resonance as a powerful tool to reveal the fundamental molecular properties of liquids and solids. His inspired teaching has led generations of physicists and chemists to develop a host of modern technologies in condensed matter physics, chemistry, biology and medicine.

Andrew J. Viterbi for his development of the maximum-likelihood algorithm for convolutional coding, known as the “Viterbi algorithm,” and for his contributions to Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) wireless technology that transformed the theory and practice of digital communications.

David J. Wineland for his leadership in developing the science of laser cooling and manipulation of ions, with applications in precise measurements and standards, quantum computing, and fundamental tests of quantum mechanics; his major impact on the international scientific community through the training of scientists; and his outstanding publications.

Related: Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers2005 and 2006 National Science and Technology Medals2004 National Medal of Science and Technology2007 Draper Prize to Berners-Lee

3 Responses to “2007 National Medals of Science and Technology”

  1. james
    October 10th, 2008 @ 12:03 am

    congratulations to all the winners. it bothers me a little though that i see bush at the podium. ah well.

  2. Curious Cat Management Improvement Blog » National Medal of Technology and Innovation
    October 16th, 2008 @ 8:49 am

    In 1987, Dr. W. Edwards Deming received the medal for his forceful promotion of statistical methodology, for his contributions to sampling theory and for his advocacy to corporations and nations of a general management philosophy…

  3. Curious Cat Science and Engineering Blog » 2008 National Medals of Science and National Medals of Technology and Innovation
    September 19th, 2009 @ 3:17 pm

    […] 2007 National Medals of Science and Technology – National Science and Technology Medals (for 2005 and 2006) – 2004 Medal of Science […]

Leave a Reply